Incident #10005

Workspace shared folder copied into VRE shared folder has restricted access

Added by Costantino Perciante almost 2 years ago. Updated almost 2 years ago.

Status:ClosedStart date:Oct 23, 2017
Priority:HighDue date:
Assignee:Lucio Lelii% Done:

100%

Category:Default
Infrastructure:Production
Milestones:
Duration:

Description

If a shared folder is copied into a VRE shared folder, the list of users allowed to access doesn't change. The only ones allowed to access are the same of the original folder.


Related issues

Related to BlueBRIDGE - VRE #7450: request for a VRE for IOTC working party (octobre / novem... Released Sep 15, 2017
Related to gCube - Release #10116: org.gcube.common.home-library-jcr.2-11-1 Released Oct 30, 2017
Related to gCube - Release #10114: org.gcube.data-access.home-library-webapp.1-10-1 Released Oct 30, 2017

History

#1 Updated by Costantino Perciante almost 2 years ago

  • Related to VRE #7450: request for a VRE for IOTC working party (octobre / november 2017) : IOTC SS3 VRE added

#2 Updated by Costantino Perciante almost 2 years ago

  • % Done changed from 0 to 100
  • Assignee changed from Costantino Perciante to Lucio Lelii

@lucio.lelii@isti.cnr.it can we release the fix for this?

#3 Updated by Pasquale Pagano almost 2 years ago

I think that this is not an incident but the expected behavior.
If I have a folder 1 shared with users A, B, and C and I have a folder 2 shared with B, C, D, and E and then I copy folder 1 into folder 2 what should be the users having access to folder 1?
- folder 2 (B, C, D, E)
-- folder 1 (A, B, C)

If we put the same users of folder 2 then
- either A will lose his privilege to access the folder.
- or we male the union of users but this is worst if folder 2 is a VRE folder since User A is not a member of the VRE.

#4 Updated by Costantino Perciante almost 2 years ago

  • Status changed from In Progress to Closed

Pasquale Pagano wrote:

I think that this is not an incident but the expected behavior.
If I have a folder 1 shared with users A, B, and C and I have a folder 2 shared with B, C, D, and E and then I copy folder 1 into folder 2 what should be the users having access to folder 1?
- folder 2 (B, C, D, E)
-- folder 1 (A, B, C)

If we put the same users of folder 2 then
- either A will lose his privilege to access the folder.
- or we male the union of users but this is worst if folder 2 is a VRE folder since User A is not a member of the VRE.

You can also interpret the action as "no matter with which it was shared, just share its copy with all other vre members". This is how we did it.

I'm going to check if I can recover the folders in the linked ticket somehow.

In the meantime I am going to close this ticket

#5 Updated by Costantino Perciante almost 2 years ago

  • Related to Release #10116: org.gcube.common.home-library-jcr.2-11-1 added

#6 Updated by Costantino Perciante almost 2 years ago

  • Related to Release #10114: org.gcube.data-access.home-library-webapp.1-10-1 added

Also available in: Atom PDF